IBCA Names Academic All-State Teams for Girls & Boys Basketball
By: Sheila McCrea - Thursday, March 19, 2020

Mike Perkins, Prairie Heights - 2020 Boys Academic All-State First Team

INDIANAPOLIS - This week, the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association named their 2019-2020 Academic All-State teams for both boys and girls.
According to the release, the IBCA Academic All-State team is a program where items such as grade-point average, college board scores and academic class rank are considered along with athletic performance in areas such as points per game, rebounds per game and assists per game.

Making the 2020 Boys Academic All-State First Team was Mike Perkins of Prairie Heights.

Honorable mention rankings included Luke Denton, Nate Dickson, & Gage Ernsbeger of East Noble; Evan Eshbach and Caleb Nixon of DeKalb; and Noah Johnson and Gavin Pfefferkorn of Eastside.

For the 2020 Girls Academic All-State Team, three players from Dekalb High School received honorable mention listings: Mackenzie Cox, Addison Ruby, & Allyson Stuckey. Also receiving honorable mention on the girls Academic All-State Team was Kayla Fenstermaker of Angola and Kyler Hall of Prairie Heights.

Students nominated must be seniors who meet criteria that include a 3.5 GPA or higher on a 4.0 scale, a class rank in the upper 25 percent of one’s class, an SAT score of 1,100 (on the reading and math sections) or an ACT composite score of 24.