Steuben County SRT Team Honored For 2023 Incident
By: Mike Stiles - Wednesday, July 10, 2024

(photo courtesy of Steuben County Sheriffs Office)

(ANGOLA) – Some law enforcement officers received a special award.

The Steuben County Sheriff’s Office Special Response Tactical Team were honored and recognized Wednesday by Sheriff Rodney Robinson, along with Chief Deputy Michael Meeks, Angola Police Chief Ken Whitmire and Angola Mayor Dave Martin.

The honor was for the SRT Team’s courageous actions during the April 12, 2023 active shooter and subsequent stand off at the Drake Terrace Apartment Complex in Kendallville.

Gunfire was reported at 7:30 PM on April 12. Officers arrived and the suspect, 60 year old Michael Emmons shot at them from a second story apartment. Additional officers, including the Steuben County SRT Team were called to the scene.

The incident ended shortly after 6 AM on April 13, when officers entered the apartment and took Emmons into custody. He died from his injuries while being taken to an area hospital.

The SRT Team, which is made up of Sheriff’s Deputies and two Angola City Police Officers, was presented with Valor awards while family members were in attendance.

The team members being awarded were First Sergeant Chris Emerick, Sergeant Jeff Vanette, Deputy Andrew Amos, Deputy Shane Matchette, Officer Caleb McLatcher, and Officer Evan Howe.


>> News Archive