Area athletes named to Division 3 All State girls basketball team
By: Mike Stiles - Wednesday, April 1, 2020

(top) Claycee West (picture courtesy of Claycee West) (bottom) Joanna Larsen (photo courtesy of Sam Bell)

Area athletes named to Division 3 All State girls basketball team
(UNDATED) – The Michigan Associated Press has announced the 2019-2020 Division 3 All State girls basketball team. Named First Team All State and the Division 3 Player Of The Year was Pewamo-Westphalia senior guard Hannah Spitzley, for the second straight year. The Western Michigan University commit averaged 14.4 points, 5.4 rebounds, 3.3 steals and 2.2 assists. She shot 58 percent from the field and 77 percent from the free throw line. Also named First Team All State was Gabi Saxman of Schoolcraft. The senior guard, who has also committed to WMU, averaged 12.3 points, 6.1 assists, 4.8 steals and 4.6 rebounds a game. She finished her career wit 1,1173 points along with 477 assists, which is 21st in MHSAA history and 436 steals, which is now 19th in MHSAA history. Named Second Team All State are Claycee West of White Pigeon along with Zakiyyah Abdullah of Niles Brandywine. Selected All State Honorable Mention are Joanna Larsen of Centreville and Regan Rose of Decatur. The Division 3 Coach Of The Year is Theresa Marvin of Byron.

Hannah Spitzley, Pewamo-Westphalia, (Sr.); Kenzie Bowers, Kent City, (Jr.); Lauren Langley, Oscoda, (Sr.); Gabi Saxman, Schoolcraft, (Sr.); Ellie Droste, Pewamo-Westphalia, (Sr.); Grace Bradford, Maple City Glen Lake, (So.); Alana Nelson, Springport, (Sr.); Sarah Marvin, Byron, (Jr.); Xeryia Tartt, Flint Hamady, (Sr.); Aryana Naylor, Flint Hamady, (Sr.); Mya Petticord, Ypsilanti Arbor Prep, (So.); Rylie Bisballe, Lake City, (Sr.);

Claycee West, White Pigeon (Sr.); Zakiyyah Abdullah, Niles Brandywine (Sr.); Tessa Leece, Ishpeming Westwood, (Sr.); Abrie Cabana, Grass Lake, (Jr.).

Joanna Larsen, Centreville; Regan Rose, Decatur; Jayd Hovey, Hart; Taylor Folkema, Western Michigan Christian; Jenna Harrison, Kent City; Lauren Laures, Pinconning; Alexys Carlstrom, Harrison; Regan Finkbeiner, Hemlock; Kallie Harrison, Bloomingdale; Olivia Bellows, Lake City; Krystina Kasson, Kalamazoo Hackett; Madelyn Koski, Ishpeming Westwood; Emily Nelson, West Iron County; Melanie Moore, Madison Heights Bishop Foley; Sabrina Gottschalk, Rochester Hills Lutheran Northwest; Maddi Osantowski, Reese; Gwen Rogozinski, Stockbridge; Alyssa Welsh, Perry; Jaden Wilder, Manton; Abby Brown, Manton; Jayden Weber, East Jordan; Addie Nagel, Charlevoix; Taylor Petrosky, Charlevoix; Makayla Clement, Byron; Kaiden Glenn, Ypsilanti Arbor Prep; Kristina Peach, Whitmore Lake; Carly Anschuetz, Adrian Madison; Coryne Howard, Fennville; Macy Bisballe, Houghton Lake; Sydney Peake, Hemlock; Emma Belles, Ithaca; Sam Vermeesch, Ithaca; Madison Travis, Farwell; Brooke Brauher, Morley-Stanwood; Lexus Bargesser, Grass Lake; Cat Carroll, Jackson Lumen Christi; Gabrielle Lutchka, Grass Lake; Alex Maher, Springport; Kara Mahoney, Laingsburg; Shealyn Tripp, Michigan Center; Ashlyn Wilkes, Vermontville Maple Valley; Brooke Wenzlick, New Lothrop.