Contested Races Decided In LaGrange County Primary
By: Mike Stiles - Tuesday, May 3, 2022

(photo courtesy of AP)

(LAGRANGE) – Contested races were decided in Tuesday's LaGrange County Primary Election.

In the race for the Republican Party's nomination to run for LaGrange County Sheriff, Chief Deputy Tracy Harker defeated Tyler Randol 1,477 to 789. Harker will now face Democratic challenger Jason Eiseman, who received 156 votes.

Incumbent District 1 County Commissioner Terry Martin defeated challenger William Booth for the Republican nomination. There was no Democratic candidate on the Primary.

Two candidates were seeking the Republican nomination to run for the District 1 County Council seat. Jeff Campos defeated Karen Eagleson 333-320. Campos will take on Tom Swihart, who on the Democratic nomination, running unopposed. Current District 1 Councilman Charles Ashcraft is not seeking re-election.

There was a contested race for the Democratic nomination to see who would run for the District 51 seat in the Indiana House of Representatives. In LaGrange county, Michael Travis defeated Jestin Coler 152-42. In Steuben County, Travis beat Coler 270-161, giving Travis the win 422-203. Travis will take on Republican incumbent State Representative Dr. Denny Zent, who ran unopposed and received 1,892 votes in LaGrange County.


>> News Archive