Area Counties Could Get Help For Bad Planting Season
By: Mike Stiles - Monday, November 18, 2019

Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer (photo courtesy of AP)

(UNDATED) – St. Joseph County is one 74 counties in Michigan that could receive assistance from the Federal Government.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture notified Governor Gretchen Whitmer that 43 counties were designated as primary natural disaster areas with 31 other counties named as contiguous disaster areas.

This happened after Whitmer sent a letter to U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue, asking for federal help for Michigan farmers under the Federal Crop Insurance Program.

St. Joseph, Cass, Hillsdale and Berrien Counties are listed as primary disaster areas. Branch, Calhoun and Kalamazoo Counties have been classified as contiguous disaster areas.

These are new designations under USDA guidelines, that allow farmers to access assistance from the organization, including FSA emergency loans and crop insurance programs. Farmers in the eligible counties have eight months from the date of a disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans.

If you are seeking assistance, you are encouraged to contact you local USDA Farm Service Agency office. You can also find more information on line. Click Here.


>> News Archive